Site Information

World’s Largest Inventory of Pro Stock Sticks and Gear
 Loading... Please wait...

Frank J. Selke Trophy

Scoring goals is glamorous, but solid defensive play wins Stanley Cups. Each year, the NHL awards the top defensive forward with the Frank J. Selke Trophy. The winner is selected at the end of each season, by a vote of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association. A fairly new honor by NHL standards, the Selke award was first presented after the 1977-78 season.

Frank J. Selke Trophy — History

The award is named for Francis Joseph Aloysius Selke, better known as Frank J. Selke. Hailing from Berlin (now Kitchener), Ontario, Selke was general manager of the Toronto Maple Leafs and Montreal Canadiens. Under his leadership, the Maple Leafs won three Stanley Cups (1932, 1942, 1945), and the Canadiens won six (1953, 1956, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1960). Selke was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1960. He passed away at age 92 in 1985.

Frank J. Selke Trophy — Trivia

  • The Selke Trophy is the fifth and most recent major NHL award named after general managers and owners of Original Six teams. The others are the Art Ross Tropy, the Conn Smythe Trophy, the Jack Adams Award and the James Norris Memorial Trophy.
  • The Detroit Red Wings and the Montreal Canadiens have captured the Selke award seven times, making them the most frequent winners. When Frank Selke was GM of the Montreal Canadiens, the team’s arch rival was … the Detroit Red Wings.
  • Selke’s son, Frank Selke Jr., was also active in the NHL, serving as an executive and publicity director of the Canadiens from 1951 to 1965. In addition, Selke Jr. was an executive for the Canadian Sports Network (producers of Hockey Night in Canada), and energetically promoted Special Olympics from 1969 until his passing at age 83.
  • Four-time winner: Bob Gainey, Montreal Canadiens, in 1977-78 (inaugural winner), 1978-79, 1979-80, 1980-81.
  • Four-time winner: Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins, in 2011-12, 2013-14, 2014-15, 2016-17.
  • Three-time winner: Guy Carbonneau, Montreal Canadiens, in 1987-88, 1988-89, 1991-92.
  • Three-time winner: Jere Lehtinen, Dallas Stars, in 1997-98, 1998-99, 2002-03.
  • Three-time winner: Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings, in 2007-08, 2008-09, 2009-10.
  • Selke award winners in the Hockey Hall of Fame: Bob Gainey, Bobby Clarke, Doug Gilmour, Sergei Federov, Ron Francis, Steve Yzerman.
  • Sergei Federov is the only player to receive the Selke Trophy and the Hart Memorial Trophy (for league MVP) in the same season.

Frank J. Selke Trophy — Complete List of Winners

  • 2018: Anze Kopitar , Los Angeles Kings
  • 2017: Patrice Bergeron , Boston Bruins
  • 2016: Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings
  • 2015: Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins
  • 2014: Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins
  • 2013: Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks
  • 2012: Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins
  • 2011: Ryan Kesler, Vancouver Canucks
  • 2010: Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings
  • 2009: Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings
  • 2008: Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings
  • 2007: Rod Brind'Amour, Carolina Hurricanes
  • 2006: Rod Brind'Amour, Carolina Hurricanes
  • 2004: Kris Draper, Detroit Red Wings
  • 2003: Jere Lehtinen, Dallas Stars
  • 2002: Michael Peca, New York Islanders
  • 2001: John Madden, New Jersey Devils
  • 2000: Steve Yzerman, Detroit Red Wings
  • 1999: Jere Lehtinen, Dallas Stars
  • 1998: Jere Lehtinen, Dallas Stars
  • 1997: Michael Peca, Buffalo Sabres
  • 1996: Sergei Fedorov, Detroit Red Wings
  • 1995: Ron Francis, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 1994: Sergei Fedorov, Detroit Red Wings
  • 1993: Doug Gilmour, Toronto Maple Leafs
  • 1992: Guy Carbonneau, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1991: Dirk Graham, Chicago Blackhawks
  • 1990: Rick Meagher, St. Louis Blues
  • 1989: Guy Carbonneau, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1988: Guy Carbonneau, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1987: Dave Poulin, Philadelphia Flyers
  • 1986: Troy Murray, Chicago Blackhawks
  • 1985: Craig Ramsay, Buffalo Sabres
  • 1984: Doug Jarvis, Washington Capitals
  • 1983: Bobby Clarke, Philadelphia Flyers
  • 1982: Steve Kasper, Boston Bruins
  • 1981: Bob Gainey, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1980: Bob Gainey, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1979: Bob Gainey, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1978: Bob Gainey, Montreal Canadiens