Site Information

World’s Largest Inventory of Pro Stock Sticks and Gear
 Loading... Please wait...

Ted Lindsay Award

For an athlete, few honors are greater than being declared the best by your fellow competitors. The NHL’s Ted Lindsay trophy — formerly the Lester B. Pearson Award — is such an honor. Whereas the Hart Trophy names NHL MVP winners based on a vote by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association, winners of the Lindsay are selected by the members of the National Hockey League Players’ Association (NHLPA).

Ted Lindsay Award / Lester B. Pearson Award — History

This award is relatively new to the NHL, introduced at the end of the 1970-71 season. At that time, it was called the Lester B. Pearson Award.

Who was Lester B. Pearson? Lester Bowles Pearson, who passed away in 1972, was one of Canada’s most accomplished statesmen, serving as Prime Minister from 1963-1968 and recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize (1957).

Among his many interests were sports. He played rugby, baseball, lacrosse, golf, tennis and, of course, hockey. He played for the Oxford University Ice Hockey Club while attending school there in the early 1920s, and from 1926-28 coached the University of Toronto Varsity Blues men’s ice hockey team.

Ted Lindsay Monument, Joe Louis Arena

In 2010, the NHL renamed the award to honor Ted Lindsay, an NHL Hall of Famer who played as a left winger for 17 years (1942-43 through 1964-65) and won four Stanley Cups with the Detroit Red Wings. Other career achievements include winning the Art Ross Trophy in 1949-50 and eight selections to the first All Star Team. His No. 7 was retired by the Red Wings in 1991. Hailing from Renfrew, Ontario, Lindsay was instrumental in organizing the National Hockey League Players’ Association, which was not a universally popular activity at the time.

Ted Lindsay Trophy — Trivia

  • Wayne Gretzky has the most career Lindsay/Pearson wins with five.
  • Four-time winner: Mario Lemieux.
  • Three-time winners: Guy Lafleur, Jaromir Jagr, Alexander Ovechkin, Sidney Crosby.
  • Two-time winners: Phil Esposito, Marcel Dionne, Mark Messier, Dominik Hasek, Connor McDavid.
  • Gretzky won four consecutive awards.
  • Lafleur and Ovechkin won three consecutive awards.

Winners, Lindsay and Pearson Award — Complete List

  • 2018: Connor McDavid , Edmonton Oilers
  • 2017: Connor McDavid , Edmonton Oilers
  • 2016: Patrick Kane , Chicago Blackhawks
  • 2015: Carey Price , Montreal Canadiens
  • 2014: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2013: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2012: Evgeni Malkin , Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2011: Daniel Sedin , Vancouver Canucks
  • 2010: Alex Ovechkin , Washington Capitals
  • 2009: Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
  • 2008: Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
  • 2007: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2006: Jaromir Jagr, New York Rangers
  • 2004: Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning
  • 2003: Markus Naslund, Vancouver Canucks
  • 2002: Jarome Iginla , Calgary Flames
  • 2001: Joe Sakic, Colorado Avalanche
  • 2000: Jaromir Jagr, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 1999: Jaromir Jagr, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 1998: Dominik Hasek, Buffalo Sabres
  • 1997: Dominik Hasek, Buffalo Sabres
  • 1996: Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 1995: Eric Lindros, Philadelphia Flyers
  • 1994: Sergei Fedorov, Detroit Red Wings
  • 1993: Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 1992: Mark Messier, New York Rangers
  • 1991: Brett Hull, St. Louis Blues
  • 1990: Mark Messier, Edmonton Oilers
  • 1989: Steve Yzerman, Detroit Red Wings
  • 1988: Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 1987: Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Oilers
  • 1986: Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 1985: Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Oilers
  • 1984: Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Oilers
  • 1983: Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Oilers
  • 1982: Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Oilers
  • 1981: Mike Liut, St. Louis Blues
  • 1980: Marcel Dionne, Los Angeles Kings
  • 1979: Marcel Dionne, Los Angeles Kings
  • 1978: Guy Lafleur, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1977: Guy Lafleur, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1976: Guy Lafleur, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1975: Bobby Orr, Boston Bruins
  • 1974: Bobby Clarke, Philadelphia Flyers
  • 1973: Phil Esposito, Boston Bruins
  • 1972: Jean Ratelle, New York Rangers
  • 1971: Phil Esposito, Boston Bruins