Site Information

World’s Largest Inventory of Pro Stock Sticks and Gear
 Loading... Please wait...

Mark Messier Leadership Award

Each year, the NHL presents the Mark Messier Leadership Award to the player who demonstrates high leadership on and off the ice during the regular season, and who is a contributing member of society. The award was first presented in 2007, making it one of the newest honors in the league. Nominees for the Messier Award are collected from fans, clubs, and NHL personnel, but it is Mark Messier himself who selects the three finalists and ultimate winner.

Mark Messier Award — History

The award is named for Mark Messier, one of the NHL’s top leaders of all time. As a player, he logged 25 seasons, winning six Stanley Cups — five with the Edmonton Oilers and one with the New York Rangers. To date, Messier is the only player in NHL history to captain two teams to Stanley Cup victories. He played in 15 All-Star Games, won the Conn Smythe Trophy once, the Hart Memorial Trophy twice and the Lester B. Pearson Award twice. Over his career, he recorded 1,887 regular season points, the third-best all-time behind Jaromir Jagr and Wayne Gretzky. He was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2007.

Mark Messier Leadership Award — Trivia

  • In the first year of existence for the Messier Award, 2006-07, monthly winners were named in addition to a single winner at the conclusion of the regular season. The five monthly winners were:
    • November — Brendan Shanahan, New York Rangers
    • December — Scott Niedermayer, Anaheim Ducks
    • January — Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
    • February — Vincent Lecavalier, Tampa Bay Lightning
    • March — Roberto Luongo, Vancouver Canucks
  • The annual winner in 2006-07 was Chris Chelios of the Detroit Red Wings.
  • No player has won the annual award more than once. However, Sidney Crosby won a monthly award in 2006-07, and the annual award in 2008-09.
  • Messier played in 1,756 regular season games, second behind Gordie Howe, who played 1,767 — a mere 11 games more.
  • The Hockey News ranks Messier 12th on its list of the 100 Greatest NHL Players. Ahead of him: Guy Lafleur, Eddie Shore, Terry Sawchuk, Bobby Hull, Jean Beliveau, Doug Harvey, Maurice Richard, Mario Lemieux, Gordie Howe, Bobby Orr and Wayne Gretzky.
  • Post-playing career, Messier created The Mark Messier Foundation to support programs that help people become healthier, better educated, more confident and more aware of opportunities.

Mark Messier Award — Complete List of Winners

  • 2018: Deryk Engelland, Vegas Golden Knights
  • 2017: Nick Foligno, Columbus Blue Jackets
  • 2016: Shea Weber, Nashville Predators
  • 2015: Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks
  • 2014: Dustin Brown, Los Angeles Kings
  • 2013: Daniel Alfredsson, Ottawa Senators
  • 2012: Shane Doan, Phoenix Coyotes
  • 2011: Zdeno Chara, Boston Bruins
  • 2010: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2009: Jarome Iginla, Calgary Flames
  • 2008: Mats Sundin, Toronto Maple Leafs
  • 2007: Chris Chelios, Detroit Red Wings