Site Information

World’s Largest Inventory of Pro Stock Sticks and Gear
 Loading... Please wait...

William M. Jennings Trophy

Every season, the NHL honors a standout goalie (or goalies) with the William M. Jennings Trophy. This NHL goalie award is one of the newer honors in the league, initiated at the end of the 1981-82 season.

The Jennings Trophy is based on the regular season. It is not a pure GAA (goals against average) hockey award: To qualify, a goaltender must have played at least 25 games for the team allowing the fewest goals. Originally, this was the definition of the Vezina Trophy that had been established in the 1920s.

William M. Jennings Trophy — History

The big question is: Why did the league introduce a second goaltender award? The main reason is that the league wanted to recognize the NHL’s top goalie on an individual basis. When the Jennings Trophy was introduced, the Vezina Trophy definition was changed to honor the league’s top all-around goaltender, as determined by the vote of NHL general managers.

The award is named for William M. Jennings, a standout NHL executive who passed away in 1981. An attorney who worked with Madison Square Garden Company, he became president of the New York Rangers in 1962, and served in that capacity until his passing. The Rangers improved greatly during his tenure, and Jennings was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1975.

William M. Jennings Trophy — Trivia

  • Jennings not only took a leadership role in many facets of NHL business, he also was a golf enthusiast — he founded the PGA’s Westchester Classic in 1967.
  • Five-time Jennings Trophy winners: Patrick Roy, Martin Brodeur
  • Four-time Jennings Trophy winner: Ed Belfour
  • Three-time Jennings Trophy winners: Dominik Hasek, Brian Hayward
  • Roy, Brodeur, Belfour and Hasek each won both the Vezina Trophy and Jennings Trophy in the same year — twice.
  • Speaking of “twice,” ties are possible in the award, since teams can have the same number of NHL goals against. In fact, ties have occurred 21 times in the history of the Jennings Trophy/Vezina Trophy.

William M. Jennings Trophy — Complete List of Winners

Winners of this award may have a low NHL GAA — but not necessarily the lowest, as this is a team and individual award.

  • 2018: Jonathan Quick, Los Angeles Kings
  • 2017: Braden Holtby, Washington Capitals
  • 2016: Frederik Andersen / John Gibson, Anaheim Ducks
  • 2015: Corey Crawford / Carey Price, Blackhawks / Canadiens
  • 2014: Jonathan Quick, Los Angeles Kings
  • 2013: Corey Crawford / Ray Emery, Chicago Blackhawks
  • 2012: Brian Elliott / Jaroslav Halak, St. Louis Blues
  • 2011: Roberto Luongo / Cory Schneider, Vancouver Canucks
  • 2010: Martin Brodeur, New Jersey Devils
  • 2009: Tim Thomas / Manny Fernandez, Boston Bruins
  • 2008: Dominik Hasek / Chris Osgood, Detroit Red Wings
  • 2007: Niklas Backstrom / Manny Fernandez, Minnesota Wild
  • 2006: Miikka Kiprusoff, Calgary Flames
  • 2004: Martin Brodeur, New Jersey Devils
  • 2003: Martin Brodeur, New Jersey Devils
  • 2003: Roman Cechmanek / Robert Esche, Philadelphia Flyers
  • 2002: Patrick Roy, Colorado Avalanche
  • 2001: Dominik Hasek, Buffalo Sabres
  • 2000: Roman Turek, St. Louis Blues
  • 1999: Ed Belfour / Roman Turek, Dallas Stars
  • 1998: Martin Brodeur, New Jersey Devils
  • 1997: Martin Brodeur / Mike Dunham, New Jersey Devils
  • 1996: Chris Osgood / Mike Vernon, Detroit Red Wings
  • 1995: Ed Belfour, Chicago Blackhawks
  • 1994: Dominik Hasek / Grant Fuhr, Buffalo Sabres
  • 1993: Ed Belfour, Chicago Blackhawks
  • 1992: Patrick Roy, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1991: Ed Belfour, Chicago Blackhawks
  • 1990: Andy Moog / Rejean Lemelin, Boston Bruins
  • 1989: Patrick Roy / Brian Hayward, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1988: Patrick Roy / Brian Hayward, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1987: Patrick Roy / Brian Hayward, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1986: Bob Froese / Darren Jensen, Philadelphia Flyers
  • 1985: Tom Barrasso / Bob Sauve, Buffalo Sabres
  • 1984: Al Jensen / Pat Riggin, Washington Capitals
  • 1983: Roland Melanson / Billy Smith, New York Islanders
  • 1982: Rick Wamsley / Denis Herron, Montreal Canadiens